Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

Hey, we built a disappearing stream!

Posted by Vivek Agarwal on June 10, 2007


For a change, here is a non-geeky post from a really geeky guy! Yes, my wife and I were really keen on adding a water feature in our yard, and finally settled on a “disappearing stream”. Our reasoning included the lower maintenance requirements, less likelihood of messing up the eco-system, and less likely to attract snakes given that we have no real pond. I attended a class at Hill Country Water Gardens on how to build this kind of a water feature – the staff there is really wonderful -very patient and helpful – huge kudos to them. It turned out to be surprisingly easier than I expected, given that I am not exactly too handy around the house. Given that installation was about twice the cost of the materials, we decided to take it on ourselves and do it ourselves rather than trying to get it installed professionally. We got some help with lifting the stones from our yard maintenance guy, but this was definitely a family effort. I will write when I have more time on the steps involved in building this, but for now here are some pictures of our final result!

DisappearingStreamOverview.jpg DisappearingStreamPotFront.jpg DisappearingStreamFlamingo.jpg DisappearingStreamPagoda.jpg Stream At Night Stream At Night

One Response to “Hey, we built a disappearing stream!”

  1. […] under: WaterGardening, DoItYourself — Vivek Agarwal @ 8:01 am This is a follow-up to my earlier entry about our disappearing stream. I hope to write up a complete set of instructions on how to build […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.