Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

Part 2: Does the Microsoft Outlook process not die when you close Outlook?

Posted by Vivek Agarwal on June 10, 2010


Sometime back I had blogged about the Outlook process not exiting when I closed Outlook, and while that posting covered one scenario (corrupted PST files) that can cause this issue, for the last few weeks I had been afflicted by this issue and scanpst was not the answer. I had suspicions about my Avast anti-virus add-in as in the past I have had issues with Outlook failing to exit due to an add-in, and that was an AVG add-in. However, turning off the Avast add-in did not help. Today, I just about had it with this issue and decided that I absolutely had to get to the bottom of it. So, I started disabling each of my Outlook add-ins one by one, and sure enough found the culprit!

It was the Apple iTunes add-in! I am running iTunes 9.0.2.25 and Microsoft Outlook 2003 SP3. Disabling the iTunes add-in enables me to regain my sanity – I can exit from Outlook and actually see the Outlook process close in Task Manager. Of course – disabling the iTunes add-in permanently is not a good solution for me, as I do sync my iPhone with my Outlook. I guess for sometime, I am going to try enabling the iTunes add-in whenever I run the iPhone sync, and then disable the add-in. Far from elegant, and I probably will give up on this, but at least I know the root cause and can curse Apple for a change as opposed to Microsoft!

6 Responses to “Part 2: Does the Microsoft Outlook process not die when you close Outlook?”

  1. Vivek Agarwal said

    Just tried a quick thingy of updating my iTunes install to the latest version available (9.1.1.12) – this implicitly re-enabled the iTunes add-in. I then tried to exit from Outlook, and sure enough the Outlook process did not die. Killed the Outlook process, relaunched Outlook, disabled the iTunes add-in, exited Outlook, and that fixed the issue again. Definitely a new incompatibility in recent versions of iTunes!! 😦 Apple – can you fix this?

  2. Vivek Agarwal said

    Interesting finding; with the iTunes add-in disabled, I connected my iPhone to my laptop, and synchronized it including my contacts, and that worked just fine. Not sure now why I would need the iTunes add-in at all! At this point, my plan of action calls for me to leave the iTunes add-in permanently disabled! This could be a permanent solution after all! 🙂

  3. David said

    I agree! Apple are you listening?

    I don’t have any apple devices, but iTunes has installed an Outlook AddIn which prevents Outlook from shutting down properly, and worse, it reenables the addin everytime iTunes updates itself!

    Very bad behaviour from the installer and a very badly coded feature.

    David

  4. Still with all the problems of Outlook it is the best email client I ever worked on it is much better than Lotus Notes

  5. All About Mail…

    […]Part 2: Does the Microsoft Outlook process not die when you close Outlook? « Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog[…]…

  6. nlp said

    singapore nlp…

    […]Part 2: Does the Microsoft Outlook process not die when you close Outlook? « Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog[…]…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
