Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

18 Responses to “Logging in to a Windows domain for the first time remotely over VPN”

  1. Reg said

    Thank you for the info Vivek.

    Simple, but quite useful info.

  2. scottsp64 said

    This was very helpful for me.

    thanks

  3. […] Logging in to a Windows domain for the first time remotely over … […]

  4. Luguta said

    Thanks! YOU HAVE JUST SAVED MY LIFE!!!
    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

  5. AI said

    Thanks for this tip! I struggled with this for a long time in a slightly different scenario — my laptop’s NIC is broken but the wireless works. Logged on as admin, connected to the wireless using PEAP, added my PC to the domain, added my domain username as an administrator, then I locked the computer and unlocked using my domain password!

  6. Robert said

    Thanks for the tip. It worked perfectly.

  7. […] out this related article for an alternate method that might suit your needs. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  8. Bob said

    Worked perfectly on Windows 7 64 bit as well! Thank you!

  9. domain name web hosting…

    […]Logging in to a Windows domain for the first time remotely over VPN « Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog[…]…

  10. Ray Burtoff said

    I have no flipping idea how this worked, but it worked! You just saved me a great deal of trouble, not to mention a couple of weeks of FedExing. Thanks!

  11. Walt said

    Wow! I’ve been googling and messing around with this for the better part of an hour. Thanks for the post

  12. Stephen said

    Worked perfect, had 1 XP User left and was struggling with this

  13. andrew said

    Thank you for this. Saved my ass.

  14. video said

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website
    not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

  15. FXF in VT said

    Thanks for reminding me about this trick. If you’re working with a virtualized machine, rename it locally first, reboot, VPN in, join the domain, reboot, VPN in, allow domain users to be administrators of the PC. Now perform the lock/log in procedure. I had trouble and it turned out that the old machine name was getting in the way.

  16. Admin said

    Neat trick, it is very useful.

  17. Thanks a lot !!! I deleted a salesman computer in AD by mistake and he is now back in business.

  18. Bjørn T. Dahl said

    tnx a bunch. saved me hours of frustration.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.