Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

And I thought installing IBM products had gotten easier! Quickr belies this belief!

Posted by Vivek Agarwal on August 24, 2007


I remember a time when installing IBM WebSphere Portal was quite a challenge requiring the right alignment of all trhe stars for you to get a successful install – this was back in the v2.1, v4.1, v4.2 days. You had to have the LDAP and the database properly configured and specify a ton of settings during the WebSphere Portal install , and you could easily mess up one thing or the other to end up with a failed install. With newer versions of WebSphere Portal, IBM switched to an archived install that did not require configuring an external LDAP/database, and as a result you always ended up with a successful Portal install. Along comes Lotus Quickr v8.0 Services for WebSphere Portal, and here I am again in failed install land! 😦

I was trying to perform the simple Departmental/Express installation that supposedly enables you to install a single server running IBM® Lotus® Quickr™ in the shortest amount of time (per the InfoCenter). There has been nothing quick with this so far. I have installed twice on a VMWare instance running Windows XP SP2, with the install failing each time at the same point –

(Aug 24, 2007 3:16:35 PM), Quickr.install, com.ibm.wps.install.ExternalCommandAction$OutputWatcher, msg2, StdErr: BUILD FAILED
(Aug 24, 2007 3:16:35 PM), Quickr.install, com.ibm.wps.install.ExternalCommandAction$OutputWatcher, msg2, StdErr: file:../config/actions/db_cfg.xml:140: ERROR: Error while checking database existance…

Essentially it seems to fail to create the release database in DB2 and then fails to verify its existence, and the Quickr install fails! Bummer!

I have checked the install instructions in the InfoCenter and do not see anything obvious that I am doing wrong. There isn’t much to the install to begin with – I have verified that my OS does meet the requirements, that my user ID has the right privileges, there is enough disk space … I have searched the forums and don’t see anything there either. Given the repeatability of my failed installs, I would have expected others to have run into it. I have looked through the IBM Quickr support site as well but not seen anything yet – need to look more thoroughly though.

I just hope we are not regressing to the dark ages again in terms of installs! 😦 The fact that the Quickr install relies on a bundled DB2 install does worry me as that is where the point of failure is in my case. Will be back with an update once I figure this out – hope it is quick as in quickr! 😉

3 Responses to “And I thought installing IBM products had gotten easier! Quickr belies this belief!”

  1. […] Quickr, Portal, Collaboration — Vivek Agarwal @ 11:20 pm No, I have not yet solved my failed install issue! I thought I was onto something with resolving the issue when I read the IBM technote titled […]

  2. Ken said

    Did you find an answer to this issue? I’m getting the same thing.

    “ERROR: Error while checking database existance”

    Thanks.

  3. Vivek Agarwal said

    Yes – I did fix it and wrote up the issue that caused my failed install – you can find it at https://vivekagarwal.wordpress.com/2007/08/25/finally-success-with-resolving-my-failed-quickr-80-install/.

    All the best!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
