Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

How can I add a Command Prompt option to the Explorer right click menu in Vista?

Posted by Vivek Agarwal on July 31, 2007


I have recently upgraded to a new notebook with Vista and am having a rather challenging time getting myself set up the way I liked. One of my favorite “customizations” in Windows Explorer in XP, was to right-click on a folder within Explorer and choose the Command Prompt – this would open up a Command Prompt window with that folder as the active directory. This customization was enabled in XP in any one of many ways including a MS PowerToy or by manually adding a context menu option.

On switching to Vista, I was looking for the same option and found that this is bundled in Vista by default – you simply browse to the parent of the folder that you want the command prompt to open in, hold down the shift key, right click on the folder name, and voila – you will have the “Open Command Window Here” option in the right click menu. Just what I wanted.

For more information, you can visit http://www.petri.co.il/add_command_prompt_here_shortcut_to_windows_explorer.htm (XP) or http://www.petri.co.il/quickly_open_command_prompt_here_in_windows_vista.htm (Vista).

One Response to “How can I add a Command Prompt option to the Explorer right click menu in Vista?”

  1. Diego said

    I suggest you to try TotalCmd:
    http://www.ghisler.com/

    Regards, Diego

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
