Vivek Agarwal’s Portal/Java Blog

An IBM Gold Consultant’s weblog about IBM, Lotus, WebSphere, J2EE, IT Processes, and other IT technologies

Hello World!

Posted by Vivek Agarwal on October 16, 2005


Welcome to my weblog! I decided that I was going to start blogging to get myself into writing on a regular basis on various technical topics of interest to me. Hopefully the topics are of interest to others as well and I can make it interesting enough that a few people find this blog useful.

A little bit of an introduction about myself …

I am a Java Architect/Developer and IBM Gold Consultant, working for a small consulting company in Austin. I have been working with IBM WebSphere and Lotus brand products for four+ years, and have extensive experience in applying these products in well-architected business solutions. I started working with IBM WebSphere Portal in its infancy in December 2001, and am an IBM Certified Solution Developer for the WebSphere Portal platform. I have worked with several clients on multiple projects based on WebSphere Application Server and WebSphere Portal, ranging from Proof-of-Concept to architecture and deployment of a multi-master, multi-site, clustered WebSphere Portal-based Corporate Intranet/Extranet.

I suspect most of my blogs will deal with WebSphere Portal, given the amount of time I spend with it and all the joy I get from resolving issues utilizing it.

That’s it for now. Will be back soon with my first real technical blog.

2 Responses to “Hello World!”

  1. Girish Kumthekar said

    Saw the note about serverindex.xml disappearing:
    On one site, we have an issue that if we perform a full resync from the deployment manager to the WPS nodes, the serverindex.xml for the WebSphere_Portal server on the WPS node disappears! And naturally, if you restart WPS after a resync, then it fails to start up successfully. For now, we have just made sure that if we re-sync the nodes, we manually drop in the serverindex.xml file in the right place. Need to look into this more closely, but it has not been a top focus item so far.

    I have experienced this issue and the solution I found that if there is a backup copy of serverindex.xml, then you have this issue. Thus make NO backup copies of any files in websphere/portalserver hierarchy (keep them in home or temp)

    Cheers — Girish

  2. Hello Vivek,

    My name is Anu Risun and I work for Packt, a UK based publishing company specializing in focused IT books. You can read more about us at http://www.packtpub.com.

    We have published “Liferay Portal Enterprise Intranets” which gives clear step-by-step instructions to install, set up and use a corporate intranet with Liferay.

    I came across your blog via Google search, I think it acts as an excellent resource to Liferay users.

    I was wondering if you would be interested in joining our partnership program? All you have to do is place Liferay book image with a unique link that will track all the visits from your website to our book page.

    I will be happy to register your blog with us and set a referral commission of 15% for every book sold through that link.
    For more information about the book, visit Liferay Portal Enterprise Intranets

    I am also looking for people to review this book and with your experience and knowledge in Liferay, you would be an excellent person to write a review. Is this something you would be interested in?
    Please let me know your response along with your shipping details and I would be happy to send a copy of the book at absolutely no cost to you.
    In case you do not wish to write a review, I would be happy to send you a sample chapter from this book. You can publish it on your blog.

    If you think this is something you wish to do, please feel free to contact me

    Thank you

    Anu
    Anu Sonia Risun
    Marketing Research Executive| Packt Publishing
    MSN: anusonia_packt@hotmail.com|

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
